Allo' Expat Barbados - Connecting Expats in Barbados
Main Homepage
Allo' Expat Barbados Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter
Check our Rates
   Information Center Barbados
Barbados General Information
History of Barbados
Barbados Culture
Barbados Cuisine
Barbados Geography
Barbados Population
Barbados Government
Barbados Economy
Barbados Communications
Barbados Transportations
Barbados Military
Barbados Transnational Issues
Barbados Healthcare
Barbados People, Language & Religion
Barbados Expatriates Handbook
Barbados and Foreign Government
Barbados General Listings
Barbados Useful Tips
Barbados Education & Medical
Barbados Travel & Tourism Info
Barbados Lifestyle & Leisure
Barbados Business Matters
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

Barbados Government


Barbados has been an independent country since 30 November 1966. It functions as a constitutional monarchy and parliamentary democracy, modelled on the British Westminster system, with Elizabeth II, Queen of Barbados, as head of state represented locally by the Governor-General, and the Prime Minister as the head of the government.

Barbados functions as a two-party system, the two dominant parties being the ruling Democratic Labour Party and the opposition, Barbados Labour Party. The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) had been in government for 15 years, since 1993 until the 2008 general election.

The Prime Minister and Cabinet is formed by the political party which gains a simple majority in the general elections held in Barbados. These elections constitutionally must be held no longer than every five years apart, however elections can be called whenever the Government so chooses to seek a new mandate or loses a vote of no confidence in Parliament. It is part of Barbados' political system and supported by the Public Service.

The number of representatives within the House of Assembly has gradually increased from 24r at independence, to its present composition of 30 seats.

The local court system of Barbados is made-up of the Magistrate's Court, the Supreme Court (High Court and Court of Appeals), and the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ).


Country name :
conventional long form: none
conventional short form: Barbados

Government type :
parliamentary democracy and a Commonwealth realm

Capital :
name: Bridgetown
geographic coordinates: 13 06 N, 59 37 W
time difference: UTC-4 (1 hour ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)

Administrative divisions :
11 parishes and 1 city*; Bridgetown*, Christ Church, Saint Andrew, Saint George, Saint James, Saint John, Saint Joseph, Saint Lucy, Saint Michael, Saint Peter, Saint Philip, Saint Thomas

Independence :
30 November 1966 (from the UK)

National holiday :
Independence Day, 30 November (1966)

Constitution :

See more information on the next page... (next)




copyrights ©
2015 | Policy